Ancient Healing, Meditation, Yoga

The Seven Chakras: A Crash Course

The term “chakra” in Sanskrit means wheel, referring to a spinning, spherical energy center. In a perfectly healthy person, the 7 chakras work together to provide the right amount of energy to your body, mind and spirit.

You’ve possibly heard about chakras in yoga class, in a movie, or perhaps from a friend. If you’re a beginner looking for information on the various chakras, you’re not alone. In this article, we’ve provided a general overview of the 7 chakras as well as some key facts about each one.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

  • Location: At the bottom of the tailbone– in the perineum for men and the cervix for women
  • What it controls: Financial independence and security
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Stone: Hematite
  • Yoga pose: Warrior I
  • When it develops: 1-7 years old

The First Chakra Muladhara translates as ‘root’ and ‘support’. This chakra connects all of your physical energy with the Earth.

When this chakra is balanced, you will feel a deep sense of peace and certainty that all of your essential needs are met.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

  • Location: In the pelvic region, a couple of inches below the belly button
  • What it controls: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Stone: Tiger’s Eye
  • Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose
  • When it develops: 8-14 years old

The Second Chakra Svadhisthana is all about your creative identity as a human being and what you do with it.

When this chakra is balanced, you’ll enjoy all the finer things in life without overdoing them.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

  • Location: In the stomach area, around 2-3 inches above the belly button.
  • What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem.
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Stone: Amber
  • Yoga pose: Boat Pose
  • When it develops: 15-21 years old

The Third Chakra Manipura further translates as ‘the lustrous gem’. This is the chakra where your self-confidence and individual power come together in unison.

When this chakra is balanced, you will have high self-esteem and self-worth.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

  • Location: In the chest, in and around the heart space.
  • What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Stone: Rose Quartz
  • Yoga pose: Camel Pose
  • When it develops: 21-28 years old

The Fourth Chakra Anahata translates to the state of being ‘unhurt.’ This chakra is where you will experience feelings of love, compassion, and kindness.

When this chakra is balanced, you will feel love and compassion for yourself and others.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

  • Location: Right in the middle of your throat.
  • What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth.
  • Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
  • Element: Sound/Music
  • Stone: Aquamarine
  • Yoga pose: Fish Pose
  • When it develops: 29-35 years old

The Fifth Chakra Vishuddha translates to ‘very pure’. This chakra helps you communicate in a smooth, confident and authentic way.

When this chakra is balanced, you will speak the truth, openly and lovingly, expressing yourself in the best way possible.

The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

  • Location: Between the eyebrows– extending to your brain’s pineal gland.
  • What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom.
  • Color: Dark Blue/Purple
  • Element: Light
  • Stone: Amethyst
  • Yoga pose: Child’s Pose
  • When it develops: 36-42 years old

The Sixth Chakra Ajna roughly translates as ‘beyond wisdom’. This chakra opens you up to extrasensory perception, intuition and psychic abilities– exceeding the 5 senses.

When this chakra is balanced, you will find harmony between your ego and your soul, beyond the materialistic world.

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

  • Location: At the very top of your head, resting on your crown.
  • What it controls: Inner and outer beauty as well as spiritual connection.
  • Color: Violet/White
  • Element: Divine Consciousness
  • Stone: Clear quartz
  • Yoga pose: Headstand
  • When it develops: 43-49 years old

The Seventh and the final chakra Sahasrara translates to ‘a thousand petals’, referring to its symbol of beautiful petals. This chakra will help you gain pure consciousness, connecting you to the Universe in its entirety, also known as ‘Om’.

Achieving a balanced Crown Chakra is the goal of any spiritual practice and is not easy to do. When this chakra is truly balanced you will achieve enlightenment or ‘Nirvana’.

Chakra balancing and realignment can be achieved through yoga, meditation, chakra cleansing, certain types of bodywork, and even music. We hope this article gave you insight into the Seven Chakras and the role they all play in your health and happiness.